meetings then makeup, numbers then nails, strategy then skincare…

Books Are My Drug of Choice

7 Comments

books2 tight

“So what are you reading?” I ask simply because you can learn a lot about a person from their choice in books and I’m constantly looking for good recommendations. I must admit that I am always stunned and a little sad if the answer is “nothing” not because I think reading makes me superior in any way but because I know that person is missing out.

For me, reading is fuel. Books inspire, excite, educate and soothe. I never have less than two books on the go at any one time. Usually it’s one fiction novel that allows a temporary escape from reality and one professional or personal development book (otherwise known as self-help) to feed my never-ending curiosity and quench my thirst for wisdom.  Reading makes you smarter (no shit) it opens your mind to new experiences or ideas, it enhances your communication skills and improves your vocabulary, .

I read because I want to learn.  I read to be a an informed team leader, a strong team player and to keep up with the demands of my job.  I also read to escape those demands, travel to exotic places (if only in my mind) have a good laugh, a good cry or take a thrill-ride into the unknown.  I read to be a thoughtful, intuitive mom and to instill a love of reading in my son.

If you ever want to have a date at Chapters, I’m your gal! and if you ever see me on the subway, Kobo or book in hand, do not disturb, that’s me…getting my daily fix.

I’m currently reading: Creativity, Inc. by Ed Catmull & Amy Wallace.  A must for anyone who manages a team of creatives or who appreciates the brain-strain associated with creativity and innovation.

I’m also reading The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult.  Actually my first book by this author and if truth be told, a little dark for my liking.  Very interesting from a historical perspective with a wonderful vocabulary and syntax.  There are some elements of fantasy that are a nice balance to the otherwise sad story that takes place during the holocaust.

creativityincSTORYTELLER

“So what are you reading?”

Author: Business Before Beauty

Beauty industry professional with over 10 years experience developing products and building brands.

7 thoughts on “Books Are My Drug of Choice

  1. I’m glad that your one to read. It is interesting, entertaining, an escape of reality to most. I am reading a book called Honey. By Jenna Jameson, which is her 2nd novel yes yes that’s correct. Entertaining at the least. Nice love story with a touch of eroticism. I am also reading Eating for your blood type. Informative for blood type 0’s. Looking forward to finishing both.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for sharing Lindsey, I’ve read a little bit about “eat right for your blood type” people swear by it! maybe we can do a book swap when you are done.

      Like

  2. Yet another reason we are kindred spirits Ruth! I currently have 3 books on the go! One fun, ‘take me away’ book (Divergent) and 2 ‘self help’/new mommy books. I recommend The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern for some frivolous fantasy. The imagination, creativity and beautiful descriptions will take you someplace you’ve never been!

    Like

    • Thanks Karen! I’ve been wanting to read Divergent, I’ve heard great things. I also just went back to another book this morning (you wont need for another few years) it’s called “Boys Should Be Boys” 7 secrets to raising healthy sons. You will love it and with a 13 year old at home, its a very informative and enjoyable read. Congrats again on your new baby boy! xo

      Like

  3. I used to be an avid reader until my baby came. I’ve recently learned that Ivan squeeze in a solid 15 mins during breastfeeds, as long as I turn the pages quietly. I’m going to check out Creativity Inc. thanks for the suggestions !

    Like

  4. I also love to read, but have found that between our course book and all the baby books people keep suggesting, I have let my love of fiction slide! Thanks for this post–it is reminding me to get back to it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love to read too but find it’s been a lot of course related reading lately. Can’t wait to get into fiction again!

    Like

Leave a comment